Trip Planner:   Asia  /  Japan  /  Kyushu-Okinawa  /  Okinawa Prefecture  /  Uruma  /  Beaches  /  Ikei Beach
Ikei Beach, Uruma
(3.2/5 based on 130+ reviews on the web)
Pristine waters and sands await at Ikei Beach, a shore boasting a picturesque setting and an ocean of clear, warm water. You'll need to pay small fee to enter the well-kept beach, which offers plenty of amenities. Hire a jet ski and speed off to explore the fantastical rock formations that rise from the floor of the bay, or swim around in the warm water, studying the sea bed and looking for colorful marine life. Along with water equipment for hire, the beach offers glass-bottom boat rides, and also has a cafe serving ice creams and refreshments should you get hungry. Plan your Ikei Beach visit and explore what else you can see and do in Uruma using our Uruma vacation trip planner.
Create a full Uruma itinerary
map

Plan your trip to Uruma

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Plans in Okinawa Prefecture by other users

8 days in East Asia BY A USER FROM INDIA February, outdoors, relaxing, romantic, popular & hidden gems PREFERENCES: February, outdoors, relaxing, romantic ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular & hidden gems PACE: Medium 20 days in Japan BY A USER FROM SLOVAKIA April, culture, outdoors, relaxing, romantic, beaches, hidden gems PREFERENCES: April, culture, outdoors, relaxing, romantic, beaches ATTRACTION STYLE: Hidden gems PACE: Medium 37 days in Asia & Middle East BY A USER FROM NEW ZEALAND April, culture, outdoors, relaxing, romantic, beaches, historic sites, shopping, popular & hidden gems PREFERENCES: April, culture, outdoors, relaxing, romantic, beaches, historic sites, shopping ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular & hidden gems PACE: Medium 31 days in Japan BY A USER FROM ARGENTINA January, culture, historic sites, popular PREFERENCES: January, culture, historic sites ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular PACE: Medium 49 days in Dubai & Asia BY A USER FROM ARUBA June, outdoors, beaches, hidden gems PREFERENCES: June, outdoors, beaches ATTRACTION STYLE: Hidden gems PACE: Medium 48 days in Asia BY A USER FROM ARUBA June, culture, beaches, historic sites, museums, fast-paced, hidden gems PREFERENCES: June, culture, beaches, historic sites, museums ATTRACTION STYLE: Hidden gems PACE: Fast-paced 11 days in Japan BY A USER FROM INDONESIA April, romantic, fast-paced, hidden gems PREFERENCES: April, romantic ATTRACTION STYLE: Hidden gems PACE: Fast-paced 8 days in Japan BY A USER FROM INDONESIA April, shopping, fast-paced, popular PREFERENCES: April, shopping ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular PACE: Fast-paced 8 days in Japan BY A USER FROM INDONESIA April, culture, relaxing, romantic, historic sites, museums, shopping, fast-paced, popular PREFERENCES: April, culture, relaxing, romantic, historic sites, museums, shopping ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular PACE: Fast-paced 32 days in Japan BY A USER FROM MALAYSIA March, culture, popular PREFERENCES: March, culture ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular PACE: Medium 31 days in Japan BY A USER FROM MALAYSIA March, slow & easy, hidden gems PREFERENCES: March ATTRACTION STYLE: Hidden gems PACE: Slow & easy 20 days in Japan BY A USER FROM JAPAN March, popular PREFERENCES: March ATTRACTION STYLE: Popular PACE: Medium
View more plans
Reviews
TripAdvisor
  • Pay beaches have been around for a long time, in Rome & Sydney in the 80's, I paid an entrance fee a few times. We didn't pay here, as there are plenty of beaches on Okinawa where you don't have to pa...  more »
  • It is a feeling is as unusual as the beaches of Okinawa, the sea was separated by a rocky beach. Float rental. Because it sells food and if you get tired, nice day.
    View original
  • If you stop in the parking lot I was down the road aimlessly without a beautiful sea, you become a dead end on ikei Island, was in the middle was ikei beach. So who does not pay on the beach in. Inlet fish fried food is cheap and delicious. Glass-bottomed boat which was too dirty glass on what is often invisible, even though engine is noisy, very not hear anything with the undertone. Not just refuse may be amateur sensation, but was not taken by the drone, and good feelings.
    View original
Google
  • This was my favorite beach when I was stationed in Okinawa in the 80's. Most days we would go there and have the whole beach to ourselves. It's nice to visit it via the magic of street view after all these years.
  • We've tried out a lot of beaches here on the island in the last year. This one is by far one of the best for swimming and snorkeling and just relaxing on the beach. It's not overly crowded but has become very popular this summer. There's a lot of fish to see especially when they know you have food (they give you a hot dog usually so you can feed the fish). The fee is a bit pricey when you have a lot of people with you. For us 2 adults and one child was a total of ¥1300 plus ¥500 extra if you bring in your own tent/umbrella. It is worth it to us though as we enjoy this island and the beaches so much! You can pick sea glass and sea shells as well but I recommend coming early rather then later since others have that idea on their mind too. Definitely not as plentiful as other beaches for that but this beach is a long stretch enough to find at least a cup full of shells/glass. I believe they do serve some food as well (curry we tried). They have showers and rent out a few things. Expect a lot of people here on the weekends (parking was full almost around noon), and when weather is nice out it is best to enjoy this beach and the fish/snorkeling. Leaving the island to go back stateside and we will miss this island and this beach so much. I recommend checking this place out at least once if you come to visit or you're here for awhile!
  • Although you have to pay to park and it is per person in your car it was totally worth it. We were charged 500¥ per adult and 300¥ per child. This price includes parking, beach access, restrooms, and showers. They also have little tents with picnic tables under them you can rent for 300¥ for the day as well as food and drinks you can purchase. The staff that works there is incredibly friendly and welcoming. They do a great job keeping the beach clean and keeping everyone happy. This is definitely our beach of choice on the island. Absolutely beautiful and quiet!
  • Excellent beach with pristine water to see all kinds of sea life. You have to pay a nominal fee to use your own beach equipment but it's worth it!
  • It has a lot of fish in the beach for real not joking. The beach is very good and clean staffs speak English and friendly so I think 500yen is not really a big deal plus shower facilities and rent snorkel, tent and other stuff.