The Ewe Experience, Glengarriff

4.6
Garden · Nature / Park
Create an itinerary including The Ewe Experience
At The Ewe Experience, visitors can explore a natural garden infused with a wide array of artistic touches and general whimsy. A 1 km (0.6 mi) walk takes you through the four themed gardens and includes both a science trail and poetry trail. You're encouraged to interact with the different art pieces or pick up one of the games of solitaire or chess scattered throughout. In the Ewe Create area, you can construct your own sculpture out of natural materials. Bring a camera along to capture some quirky photos. Stop for a cup of tea and slice of cake at the on-site cafe. Sensible shoes are a good idea to help traverse the uneven footpaths. Arrange your visit to The Ewe Experience and discover more family-friendly attractions in Glengarriff using our Glengarriff day trip app.
Improve this listing »
Create an itinerary including The Ewe Experience

The Ewe Experience reviews

Rate this attraction
TripAdvisor traveler rating
TripAdvisor traveler rating 4.5
503 reviews
Google
4.5
TripAdvisor
  • I loved this garden very imaginative. The couple who run it are so nice and eager to speak with all visitors 
    I loved this garden very imaginative. The couple who run it are so nice and eager to speak with all visitors  more »
  • What a stunning experience. Absolutely superb. A brilliant balance between art, philosophy, intelligent humour. Works for all age groups. Felt inspired afterwards. Would highly recommend 
    What a stunning experience. Absolutely superb. A brilliant balance between art, philosophy, intelligent humour. Works for all age groups. Felt inspired afterwards. Would highly recommend  more »
  • Amazing! Whimsical and entertaining, creative and inspiring. We enjoyed every minute. There are steep paths but it is manageable. 
    Amazing! Whimsical and entertaining, creative and inspiring. We enjoyed every minute. There are steep paths but it is manageable.  more »
Google
  • Interesting educational place set in beautiful surrounds. A good place for people of all ages. It is outdoors and hilly so not suitable for buggies, wheel chairs or people with mobility issues. Lots of artist installations and information boards to look at throughout this well designed "garden" in the grounds of the home of the artists.A philosophic, artistic, scientific, interactive and educational feel to the place.
  • A lovely day out to this unusual facility. Lots of interesting facts and figures. Very peaceful setting with the sound of the water. An energetic walk/climb with plenty of time to enjoy every area of the site. Courteous owners on site. Will visit again.
  • We went there with our 5 year old and 17 and 22 year old kids and they and we had a fantastic day out the sculptures are amazing and entertaining and in some cases interactive. There is so much to see both on the ground and in the tree's and in the water and on the river banks that your almost child like trying to find everything so you don't miss it. The paths around the property are well layed out but do get steep in places so not for everyone. Overall we had a great time and there was a ecological and informative message but not one that was thrown in your face. Well worth a visit.
  • Really interesting place, I would rather describe it as outdoor art gallery/ sculpture garden than natural history. It's art with a message and an educational aspect to it. Located in a beautiful forest, well worth a visit! Do take at least 2 hours of you want to fully enjoy this place. We've only been the re 1 hour because we arrived near closing time, in 1 hour you can see the sculptures, but you'll miss the information and poetry and the interactive aspect.
  • One of the most un welcoming places I have been in a long time, we completed the walk / trek quickly enough as our kids were quick on their feet, we went to turn back into the start of the gardens from where the forest trek finished as the kids wanted to revisit parts of the gardens, we were very abruptly stopped by a man who basically refused that we could go back in, stating once you got to the end of the forest part then you were to leave the entire grounds, we did try to ask what was the problem with us going back into the gardens, he told us this was clearly explained at the start that you ate to leave once you come down from the forest, he also stated that he'd never had a complaint in 26 years ?? He obviously hasn't read his Google reviews or trip advisor ones, Stay away guy's!!! Keep your €30 in your pocket...... edited to reply to the predictable response from Ewe experience :-) I didn't enjoy the experience so much that I wanted to do it again, it was the fact we had spent so little time in the place initially and at the 30€ you charged us to go in I felt we should of tried to of gotten some value for money, Glad that you are seeing your negatives reviews and replying to them all...as you were quite adamant that you had not received any complaints in 26 years

Plan your trip to Glengarriff

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.