Trip Planner Asia  /  China  /  Shanxi  /  Wutai County  /  Nature  /  Wutai Shan (Five Terrace Mountain)

Wutai Shan (Five Terrace Mountain), Wutai County

Categories: Mountains, Sacred & Religious Sites, Nature & Parks, Tourist Spots
Inspirock Rating:
4/5 based on 380+ reviews on the web
One of four holy mountains in Buddhism, the World Heritage Site of Wutai Shan (Five Terrace Mountain) is renowned for being home to more than forty temples and monasteries. Explore the scenic landscape, dominated by the mountain’s five plateau peaks, usually covered in snow, and visit the temple complex, surrounded by lush pine forest and verdant grassland. You can visit numerous temples, admire their architecture and works of art, and enjoy the busy, but spiritual atmosphere. Sample some of the many shops and restaurants in the area. Plan to visit Wutai Shan (Five Terrace Mountain) and other customer-reviewed, writer-recommended Wutai County attractions using our Wutai County family vacation planner.
Create a full itinerary - for free!
going to
read all reviews »
  • You can take a public bus from Taiyuan available hourly basis. I took a bus from Datong south bus station. It depart at 8.30 am or 2 pm. Only 2 trips a day. Advisable to buy the ticket costing Rmb 75....  read more »
  • Wutai Shan was really enjoyable. I liked seeing all of the monks, especially the Tibetan monks that go there on pilgrimages. And I got to watch them walk and chant together. It was enjoyable. The scen...  read more »
  • 山峦起伏 ,气势宏伟,空气清醒,气温适宜,庙宇众多,居士成林,祈福灵验,交通便利,导游成群,饭店无数,菜式丰富,价格偏高,可以谈价,必须本地。 
Nearby Attractions
Visit for 1​h
Visit for 2​h 30​m
Visit for 1​h
Visit for 1​h
Visit for 1​h